Reference

OnDemand App

OnDemand App

[…]Sound knowledge, organised work and great Ideas – with ctrl.alt.coop as partner we were able to implement ideas on this foundation and present impressive innovations in the area of autonomous driving to our customers.

Marc Schelewsky
Team coordinator, InnoZ

For the Innovation Centre for Mobility and Societal Change (InnoZ) we have built an Android app as a part of an experiment on the field of autonomous mobility. The purpose of the project was to develop a user interface for the autonomous shuttle Emily. The user of the app should be able to call the vehicle from a random position along the route. Then, the shuttle transports the user to the requested location. While there was already a REST api for controlling the vehicle, important functionalities for a real on-demand service were missing in the back-end. Therefore, we built not only the android app but also a back-end service in python which takes care of authenticating users, recording their journey requests and distributing them across available vehicles.
Emily, the autonomous shuttle

Emily (InnoZ/Max Power)

User login

User login

Scheduling a journey

Scheduling a journey

Scheduling a journey: details

Scheduling a journey: details

Departure information

Departure information

The Back-End

The REST API

The REST API

Using tornado and various additional libraries, we have developed a pragmatical back-end. The API is automated and specified according to OpenAPI standards. The specification is read by Swagger and presented as an interactive API documentation. During development, the project is automatically tested and deployed to our Openshift cluster. Above all Review Apps saved us a lot of time during development, since it allowed us to test every additional feature directly end-to-end.
Our build pipeline

Our build pipeline

Deployment with Openshift

Deployment with Openshift

Conclusion

We are happy to count one more satisfied customer and to have participated in this exciting project. We give many thanks to all our partners from InnoZ and hope to cooperate with them again in the future.

Made with
Android
Kotlin
Python
Openshift Origin

Projekt: OnDemand App

Für das Innovationszentrum für Mobilität und gesellschaftlichen Wandel (kurz InnoZ) erstellten wir im Rahmen eines Experiments im Feld autonomer Mobilität eine Android App. Das Ziel war, ein Userinterface für das autonome Shuttle Emily zu erstellen. Die Appnutzerin soll in der Lage sein, entlang der Fahrzeugroute per Knopfdruck das Fahrzeug zu rufen, welches diese dann zur gewünschten Zielstation fährt. Während das Fahrzeug bereits über eine REST-API ansteuerbar war, fehlten wichtige Funktionalitäten im Back-End um einen echten “On Demand” Betrieb zu gestalten. So bauten wir neben der Applikation noch einen Back-End Service in Python, der die Authentifizierung der Nutzer_innen übernimmt, deren Anfragen aufnimmt und schließlich nacheinander auf die verfügbaren Fahrzeuge verteilt.
Emily das autonome Shuttle

Emily (InnoZ/Max Power)

User Login

User Login

Routenplanung

Routenplanung

Übersicht über die geplante Route

Übersicht über die geplante Route

Abfahrtsinformationen

Abfahrtsinformationen

Das Back-End

Die REST API

Die REST API

Unter Einsatz von tornado und diversen Zusatzbibliotheken waren wir in der Lage ein pragmatisches Back-End zu erstellen. Die gesamte API ist automatisiert nach OpenAPI Standards spezifiziert. Die Spezifizierung wird von Swagger gelesen und präsentiert sich dann als interaktive API Dokumentation. Das Projekt wird während der Entwicklung automatisiert getestet und dann auf unserem Openshift Cluster deployed. Insbesondere das Nutzen von Review Apps hat uns während der Entwicklungsphase viel Zeit gespart, indem wir jedes neue Feature direkt Ende-zu-Ende testen konnten.
Unsere Build-Pipeline

Unsere Build-Pipeline

Deployment mit Openshift

Deployment mit Openshift

Fazit

Wir freuen uns, einen weiteren zufriedenen Kunden zählen zu dürfen, sowie Teil dieses wirklich spannenden Projektes gewesen zu sein. Vielen Dank an alle Beteiligten im InnoZ und auf eine baldige wiederholte Zusammenarbeit.

Eingesetzte Technologien